Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

Just own the night, like the 4th of July

You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine
Just own the night like the 4th of July

‘Cause baby, you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go, oh
As you shoot across the sky

Happy Belated 4th of July!
Vintage Shirt dress & Belt: Hamlet’s Vintage.
Check out Hamlet’s vintage!

As I look back on the past year and realize what has changed in my life since then it truly is just brilliant.

I have become closer to friends I knew and have made new friends that will last a lifetime. I have fallen in love with life, with people and have had my heart broken only to come out stronger.

Baby, you’re a firework
Come on, let your colors burst
Make ’em go, oh
You’re gonna leave ’em falling down

I lost a close friend of mine from childhood, Lily, to a murder. And I miss her daily. At first I must admit I did not let my feelings be seen about this loss and my heart was in so much pain it was almost to much to go through, especially since it had occurred two days before my birthday but now I realize that she would want her sister and I, two very important women in her life to live in peace. I miss you Lily. I realize that I have to fight for women’s rights more and against abuse (something even I have lived through for a lot of my life). I will be honest with myself, my life and my friends….

Succeeded? Yes, I started a new job since I left my ex husband in Riverdale over a year ago and have truly found my life’s virtues to be quite unique and promising, this too…has made me a more confident and beautiful human being.

A year ago, I was still unsure of my future not completely feeling I can fill my own shoes but still trying daily. The keyword? Trying. Now I look down at my high heeled and quite sexy Olsenhaus shoes, and realize I have grown into them, I am comfortable living with them.

I have started a Vegan Perfume Company with my friend Dania, which will be spoken about later in a long blog post. I moved into a delightful vegan household in Brooklyn where we have our own little sanctuary and a back yard. Honestly, I didn’t expect me to move back to Brooklyn but I did and happen to love basking in it as I ride my bike down 5th Avenue and into Park Slope weekly.

I’ve realized that I can live on Rice & Beans and Avocado daily (this I do often) and that I have my down falls but so much more to be proud of. *How can I mix these two quite different topics into one sentence?*

I decided to write this post because I have quite a few things I would like to explain more in my blog; I want to take this blog on a new journey and start speaking more form my heart. What inspires me? This you will find out if you do so choose to keep on reading. Fashion will always be included and of course, music because I can’t live without a soundtrack to life.

My life though quite painful at points or exciting as others has created the basis for who I am today. Nearly unstoppable at points, I am indeed a firework.

Holidays? Why am I writing about July 4th? Last year I was in Astoria with my lovely friend Christina, watching fireworks as we strolled down the street on a nice summer evenings. I remember there was a slight drizzle but we still kept walking, hypnotized by the lights exploding above us.

I actually do not like the Hallmark of a holidays: the expense, the exposure but I do like the timeline (landmark) of a holiday. The fact that I will always remember a Valentines day, a birthday, July 4th, Christmas..etc because each calendar year: that day is marked out clearly. I do have a profound memory and can remember details better than most people I know, but I do also enjoy the fact that July 4th, like any other day is also a time of spending time with people you love.

This year, I spent time with Dania, a friend I met nearly a year ago but have gotten to be quite close to. We decided to be there for one another on this day because every plan that had been in effect had been canceled and we decided to go out to dinner at my new favorite Colombian restaurant, Bogota, a restaurant with delicious vegan options that someone I had dated for a bit took me to and I had recalled it to be a great time. This time, on July 4th, was just as great as the last.

After dinner we decided to walk to Cobble Hill and maybe go to the Fireworks but I wanted a refreshing glass of wine and stopped into my friends bar, 61 Local for some wine and Kombucha.

The day, an unforgettable one, will last in me memory forever.

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Just own the night, like the 4th of July

  1. Hey Rachel! I had no idea you were starting a vegan perfume line. That’s awesome and I hope to hear more about it.

Leave a Reply

