Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

04.13.12: Take a CHa Cha Chance and Dance, My 30th birthday!

It may look like I’m moving but I’m standing still. – BOB DYLAN

On Thursday, April the 12th, I turned 30. Yes, I am now three decades old and do I feel any different? Hardly…maybe now it’s just that I don’t look in the mirror and think I am 15 any longer and or that when my friends and I speak of the 80s, we actually realize that it was in fact, 30 years ago. I am confident in my age and besides that, I know I happen to look young and healthy. I owe this all to my vegan diet, by the way.

So how did I celebrate my the evening of my actual birthday? I celebrated with someone special and it was perfect, I couldn’t have asked for more and this will indeed be a memory I won’t ever forget.

I woke up the following morning, still basking in the delight from the beautiful evening the night before and had to get ready for my ever-so-large scheduled birthday party that evening at the Yippie Cafe.

I ran some errands and went shopping a bit and then went to get my hair done at Styles on B. We chose the style carefully to match my dress and ended up with a cute and classic half up-do with a side ponytail. Part calendar girl and part 50s housewife, just lovely…

Styles on B...

Once I arrived at the cafe: I had to calm myself down because I had to make sure everything was in order for the sound system and asking myself questions like “Will anyone show?” “How many will?” “Music..” “Food..” “Drinks….”. Honestly, I decided to sneak away for a bit and to one of my current favorite bars: Tom & Jerrys, where the bartender poured me a bottle of Prescucco, and I sipped it, nonchalantly and relaxed. I ran next door to order dinner from Rice (I frequent this spot quite a bit!), which unfortunately I didn’t eat much of and returned to the cafe and chaos of my birthday.

At about 7:15 (No one likes to be first!), friends started pouring in and the party soon started as I plugged in my iPod and turned down the lights.

My friends who were scheduled to play(sing or have a band perform) were amazing, the cupcakes that Vegan Bun Buns brought were delicious and the dancing was energizing. I hadn’t had a chance to sit down all night: over 70 people at once were there and over 100 at different times. Kate Wolf roasted me and then turned on everyone else in the crowd. By the next day; new friends were made within the party and Facebook had benefited from quite a few new friend requests. 🙂 I have so many pictures so I will just post them up! and here is a video of Kristy singing for the crowd:
(lots more videos from the night, including Michelle singing happy birthday with Kristy, Elizabeth & Diana but they are up on Facebook!)

My dress is from one of my favorite private vintage stores: Stache.

I had such an amazing time, with so many friends and some family that I love. Thank you all for coming!

Special Thanks to:

The Dwellers, Elizabeth Brucia, Kristy M, HERE, Vegan Bun Buns, Derek Goodwin & Shoshana & Michelle Hill & Duke, as well as the legendary David Peel.  for standing up there and performing and or singing. And of course, Kate Wolff, for her roast and comedic antics 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “04.13.12: Take a CHa Cha Chance and Dance, My 30th birthday!

  1. Diana on said:

    Your party was amazing ❤ And you looked gorgeous and absolutely glowy!

  2. Mod Pod Daily on said:

    You glisten with me! ❤ I am so happy that you came (though I knew you would..)

Leave a Reply

