Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

04.10.12: Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary

I must admit, this past weekend must have been one of the most beautiful weekends I have ever had, and it was also the last weekend of my 20s and I was able to share it with people I care about…

I have this little traditional that the weekend before my birthday, every year be that I take a trip up to Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary in Willow, NY to visit my friends and hug the over 200-rescued critters that live there.

Last year seems like it was just yesterday when I took the journey up with Yana, Val, Gabe and Andrej.

Can you believe that was a year ago? Time really does fly quite quickly and if you saw my last post: re: Veggie Prom…

My life has turned a new page….

Saturday:

I woke up to the sound of the alarm at: 6:00 a.m., just 20 minutes before I normally wake up and got dressed in a hurry to meet Michelle & Elizabeth in Williamsburg in front of Kellogg’s Diner, a diner that has been a favorite meeting place of mine for maybe 11 years now. After we met up and went to pick up Elizabeth, we made our way to Brooklyn Bagel which is a Bagel shop that has some amazing vegan options and a sister cafe to Cafe Royale, where my friends at Dun-Well Donuts sell from. Speaking of which, we actually bumped into Christopher(From Dun-well) spontaneously…I absolutely adore bumping into friends I haven’t seen in quite a long time. We drove to pick up Dania and thus, once we were all adjusted and settled: we started the 2 1/2 hour drive up to our favorite place on earth:

Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary…

Every time I travel through Woodstock, I relive all sorts of memories of growing up traveling there often with my father to see friends and even when we had briefly made a decision that we would live up there. I remember being about 8 and I couldn’t wait to move into the village of Woodstock so that I can spend time with my friends up there and be able to run through Sleepy Hollow and under Willows and through fields while I twirled in long hippy skirts. I wanted to be free to wear a tie-dye to school and later maybe even date guys with long hair who placed flowers within the waves of my own. I was 8 and yet I wanted to live the summer of 1969, all year round.

We passed “The Green” where I would hang out as a child and then into my teens….ah, the little escapades I’d get up to in this town, and how I always miss it when I go.

We arrived at the sanctuary and each of us excitedly screaming “Hi babies! Hi!!!!” we couldn’t wait to park the car and take the little stroll down the path to our home away from home, a place that reminds us exactly why we made the life choices we did to live ethical, and VEGAN.

I went into the house to catch up with Jenny for a bit. Jenny is an extraordinary and beautiful woman who inspires me (and many others!) daily. She will be releasing a book shortly and though I know her; I am quite excited to get myself a copy.  I feel honored to know and be a friend of such a courageous woman!

Jenny & I at my birthday celebration a year ago at the farm....

Jenny Brown & Doug Abel, Co Founders of the sanctuary and inspiring friends who embrace our shared dreams!

She & her husband, Doug, founded the farm together and they live their lives dedicated to every critter there!

After saying hello to Jenny, I quickly ran out to join my friends that I traveled up with and celebrate with the critters of the sanctuary:

Taking a nap with Jasper the goat..

This handsome cow, Dylan was going to be slaughtered after just a few weeks old to become veal. Jenny and Doug rescued him on behalf of my friend Kristin Lajeunesse‘s parents. I have watched Dylan grow throughout the years and love him dearly! He remember me better than most people, even! had licked me, kissed me and has run from across the field just to get some scratches (especially behind his ears). Please don’t drink dairy because lives like his will be taken.

These pigs live happily at the sanctuary…

Rescued chicken from Kapores, a terrible religious tradition that is extremely cruel.

Dania, Elizabeth & me, Michelle: 4 sexy smart vegan girls in a car..hahaDania, Elizabeth, me, Michelle…4 sexy smart vegan girls.

After our day of lots of kisses and hugs, we knew we had to return home to the city so we made our way back into town and to one of my favorite cafes: The Garden Cafe, which is located in the center of Woodstock for lunch.


Michelle and I toasting to our tradition of ordering Mimosas & my birthday.

We each ordered bowls of steamed veggies, red rice & lentils and had lentil soup. For desert I had the Lemon Coconut Cobbler and Dania had the Apple pie…mmm. We were sad to leave Woodstock again but plan on going up again soon to embrace our homeland. 🙂

I love you girls!

Check out the Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary just ten minutes outside of Woodstock in beautiful Willow, NY. Also, they have a bed & breakfast now that I suggest checking out!

Till next time:

I might just update you on Sunday, the last of my 20s and one I will never forget because it was such a beautiful & inspiring day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

