Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

03.02.12:Cheer up, sleepy Jean……

Oh I could hide ‘neath the wings of the bluebird as she sings
The six o’clock alarm would never ring
But it rings and I rise, wipe the sleep out of my eyes
My shaving razor’s cold and it stings….

And I'm a Believer...

Wednesday morning came and I was still laying in bed as the alarm went off at 10 a.m. That’s right, I did not go to work on Wednesday.

I turned on iTunes and decided I’d listen to some Monkees, especially “Daydream Believer” because, well…I have certain songs I listen to every morning and this just so happens to be one of them. And, listening to Davy Jones voice first thing in the morning makes it so that the rest of the day turns out to be a delight. Just the day before I had posted on twitter how much I adore Davy Jones, my fellow Monkees fans and Davy fans cheered in on that twitter post and we all giggled in unison. I really do not live in modern times per say, do I? I just seem to fit into the 60s rather than …the present. And like my music taste & clothes, I take joy in my love for relics….

Suddenly around noon, my phone started going off with text messages and as I opened the first one from my father, it simply said “Davy jones died”. All I could reply was: “nonono” the next couple of texts from friends and even my brother followed.

When I was 3 years old, they had a reunion tour and my father had brought me to the show where I sat in the front row and threw a beach ball up on stage and Davy had kicked it back and this kept happening throughout the show where then each of the Monkees would kick the ball back to me. I know this was one of those profound moments in my life because even at that age, I loved them and knew all the songs though I can barely understand what was being sang about. (Love, girls) They just made me the coolest 3-4 year old ever! (rolling my eyes.)

I would watch “The Monkees” TV show whenever it was on and yes, I do own the first full season now. I want the other season (ahem birthday! heh). One time I even woke up at 3 a.m. just to catch Davy doing a guest appearance.

I may be crazy, but a good crazy….:)

Cheer up, sleepy Jean, oh what can it mean
To a daydream believer and a homecoming queen?

That night, my friend Leanne (Sunshine!) had a party to open her new boutique in Williamsburg for her darling clothing line, Vaute Couture. I didn’t make it because I chose to take it easy and relax but I heard the party was fantastic.

Check out her store at:

234 Grand Street, Williamsburg

(L to Bedford, G to Lorimer)

The night turned out to be special for me….

Daydream believer.

Thursday.

I awoke to another beautiful morning and watched as a Seagull flew over the East River. This was indeed a lovely way to start the day….

I got back to work and caught up on emails & projects and realized I had a hair appointment that night with Stacy, of StylesOnB. I LOVE Stacy and have been going to her for about 4 1/2 years.  Not only is she the ONLY person I’d ever trust with my hair but also a friend of mine who I always look forward to seeing. She knows my unique and dramatic style and we decided to go with a “baby fringe” ala 1961.

60s m'inspire ...

After hanging at StylesOnB, I took a little leisurely walk to Kate’s Joint on Ave B, which happens to be one of my main hot spots for a quick dinner or even brunch with my mates. They now serve many gluten-free alternatives which makes this lady right here, very pleased.

I ordered the Vegan Mac & Cheese (Gluten-free!) and sautéed spinach and hung out as long as I can before running over to Lula’s to meet Kristy for a sweet treat. Taking in some East Village memories as I passed the garden on East 6th and Ave B. Since I grew up in this part of town, there are always memories as I pass a certain corner or building, a street sign even.

Arriving at Lula’s Sweet Apothecary and taking in the tunes of the 20s as I entered.  I marveled at all my choices and tasted three flavors: Peanut Butter Fudge, Maple Almond & Pistachio. I ended up dancing a little with the couple that was there eating a sundae as I waited patiently for Kristy to arrive. Patience in Lula’s is a hard task to follow, by the way.

Obviously, I ended up ordering a Virgil’s Root Beer float that I couldn’t finish and ended up handing over to Kristy to savor the last bit..mm mm.

We strolled on down to Club Ella where I was about to see a friend’s show and received an important text message…..

Good luck dad and feel better.

I love you…

Friday.

60s m’inspire …Mod Pop of Yellow! Striped vintage shirt: Auh2O Thriftique, Skirt: Beacon’s Closet.

I wasn’t able to sleep very well last night but I did wake up to some funny texts from my sissy in crime, Diana. ❤ And Daydream believer came on my iPod on the way to work…my heart skipped.

So far so good…

Tomorrow & Sunday are the days of the 2nd year of The Vegetarian Food Festival. This year I made sure to get V.I.P. tickets in advance as last year there just so happened to be a 3 hour wait in line and I didn’t end up getting in. I am so excited to sample a bunch of different new vegan foods as well as hear some of my friends speak on panels and of course, bump into friends as I manage to navigate through the crowds of people anxious to grab treats!

If you haven’t bought your ticket in advance, it will be $5.00 at the door but if I were you: buy a ticket now to join in on the fun.

The event will be taking place from: 10AM to 5PM (Saturday & Sunday) at:

The Metropolitan Pavillion

125 West 18th Street (Between 6th & 7th), New York City

Happy Friday & Cheers to making it an enjoyable one. Happy March….

You once thought of me as a white knight on a steed
Now you know how happy I can be
Oh, and our good time starts and ends
With a dollar one to spend
But how much baby do we really need?….

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “03.02.12:Cheer up, sleepy Jean……

  1. Diana on said:

    You know I am loving the bangs! I am trying to remember what I texted you Friday morning now. I don’t remember what but there are only 2 things we text about. Nail Polish and …… 🙂 ❤ you!

  2. Diana on said:

    oh wait…nevermind…I remember what I texted you. lol. SMH to me! But it wasn’t an issue anyway…and I also did text you about nail polish. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. sweetserenitee on said:

    Mmhmmm…..best. bbm. ever. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

