Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.22.12: Champagne Supernova….

The first song of the day on my iPod brought me back to the year 1994….

Wetlands....

And it all began then at the famed New York City venue Wetlands where a new Britpop band entered the stage and the first riff’s blared out of the amps and right into the hearts of many, including me….

Oasis has come to America….

How many special people change?
How many lives are living strange?
Where were you while we were getting high?
Slowly walking down the hall
Faster than a cannon ball
Where were you while we were getting high?

 

So I am electric, I live in a Champagne Supernova…and my life has changed dramatically since 1994, of course. When I first heard of Oasis at Wetlands, one of my favorite concert venues that I grew up going to almost weekly since I was a wee little girl.

I still remember the old van set up with merchandise to the right of the bar that I;d hang out for hours at while I drew and or collected band stickers and the long bar where my father would usually order a screw driver and take a sip and walk away leaving me questionably sniffing at it. The small stage to the right and the bleacher type arena (but not as big) seating and my family friend, David Nolan who was a famed radio Dj, music producer and sound guy at Wetlands up in the sound booth. He passed away about 2 years ago and it breaks my heart to ever think of the loss. I would run down the stairs to the basement of the club, following the black lights and into a large room with red cushions and up the back to the backstage to hang with whatever musicians would be on stage that night. I’d sniff their alcoholic drinks and mention how I’d never be caught drinking any of that (yea right) and sway as a young girl to the sounds streaming from the newest live acts to hit the city. The room downstairs had an art deco vibe and there happened to be an old payphone to the side of it that I would constantly hang out in, dialing away  to my friends to exclaim my excitement for a new band & then realizing that they just didn’t get my lifestyle.

I just didn’t grow up like everybody else: I grew up with alcohol & cigarettes (yes, another Oasis reference, guess how many there are in this post..) living supersonic.

And how does this tie into my life now?..well if you know me, you know already…..

What’s the story morning-glory?

Well today I woke up and realized that I had been asked to at least mention Oasis and it must have been fate because Liam’s vocals and Noely’s guitar solo was the first sound of music I heard.

In order to comply with my audience, I must do this. (Waves)

Tunic Sweater by Kate Goldwater of AuH2O, friend and designer. 🙂


Honestly, I have been quite busy the past few days and I was focusing on some projects that I had been procrastinating on but I ended up working on them last night and catching up.

I had a delicious lunch at Souen ordering my usual: the Macro Plate, which unbelievably, I can live on.

So I guess right now, I have just been looking back on my life & the things I have accomplished. Not to mention, the places I have traveled, the places I want to return to and the places I want to experience…and the people I have met along the way, including Liam & Noel. (Gemmy, Andy, Chris, Jeff, Paul..) And to many pictures to even post.

In a champagne supernova in the sky
Someday you will find me
Caught beneath the landslide
In a champagne supernova

And, that gracious kiss on the hand …that took  me back in time and I felt 12 again, swaying to the new music from the band from Britain.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

