Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

Random Post: What people think activists do…and what most of us really do…

What we REALLY do...

I am awake, it is exactly 7:20 A.M. and my lovely mother posted this on the wall of my Facebook while I was asleep and it quickly caught on to most of my activist friends and has now been forwarded all over the world.

The truth is this graphic really does depict and define how people assume that us animal activists act during demonstrations or whatever we do.

I am not a trouble maker though one may think I am when I tell them that I grew up as an activist but to me activism is educating, with a cordial smile on my face. I want to be the activist that is easily approachable on why we are out there: not the activist who scares the people away as they run screaming down the block.

When my friends and I stand outside with our signs, flyers and any other literature we may have…we just hope to get approached: asked questions. We actually encounter quite a bit of criticism from fur owners, people who eat meat and I have actually almost been hit because I defended a friend who was about to get punched at a Foie Gras Demo some years back when this guy stepped out of the restaurant drunk to yell at him.If you know me, don’t mess with the people I care about because I will defend them in a manner that will make a person feel tiny as they act immaturely and I can hold my composure, with a smile on my face.

So here are several photos of my friends and I at the  INTERMIX protests that I am the NYC campaigner for:

.

Just two friendly guys! Great activists....

Sweetest little protester ever. 🙂

I have plenty of other photos, where we are talking with people, handing out flyers and information and smiling. Not all cases and circumstances are negative, in fact under many circumstances people are polite in return to us, asking us questions and trying to educate themselves. We are out there standing in all-weather conditions to speak from our heart.

The thing is: activism comes out and is expressed in so many ways, annually there is a Veggie Pride Parade in May along with a Veggie Prom (Where last year I ran for Prom Queen and this year I will be running again) and we all participate in many FUN events where just by not participate in eating a morsel of meat, drinking a glass of milk and or wearing a pair of leather shoes: we are acting. We have catering companies and parties dedicated to the truth of food…and follow with events & benefits.

We are changing the world. Veggie Pride Parade is one of the most enjoyable acts of activism that I participate in annually to see friends, eat great food and have fun as we march down the streets:

When veggies attack!

Robyn wearing a Vegan shirt (activism!) with my niece, Jessy Blade.

And this is the truth: We ❤ and I mean LOVE animals and when we do human rights: ❤ the humans we are defending.

Last summer, a friend of mine was arrested just for standing in front of Mayor Bloombergs mansion with a sign speaking up about the Geese being gassed to death in Prospect Park every year, ARRESTED! He did not do anything wrong and if you met him, he is possibly one of the nicest guys I have ever known. I was disgusted by this. Since when is freedom of speech a violent attack? Activists are not harming anyone by speaking their minds….

Especially if you just stop to listen. Come to events for activism that you believe in: Animal, Occupy Wall Street & Human Rights, Political…

So, please, don’t label us. And don’t suspect that I am someone violent or someone who acts without cause: I love human beings and to me, that includes the mortals (because we are all mortal), who have no voice but the cries they were given. Stop and listen to those or stand outside with us.

And, on a side note, I have been lucky to have family & friends who appreciate me for who I am, and what I do. If someone who knows me can’t accept me for my beliefs then they weren’t friends of mine to begin with……<3 🙂

And yes, I admit: activism comes in all forms & from different spectrum’s & all actions. Not all of us are peaceful demonstrators but most of us choose different tactics and choose to be peaceful.

End Labels. And again, please sign our Petition to tell INTERMIX to stop selling fur!

http://www.change.org/petitions/intermix-please-go-fur-free

I want to change the world through my heart.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Random Post: What people think activists do…and what most of us really do…

  1. activism is giving the war mongers and animal exploiters …your personal day of hell!! it means being a gadlfly in the side of the status quo!!!
    therefore change will not happen unless we the people activate

  2. sweetserenitee on said:

    Dad, we have different definitions of activism. I do not yell or scream. I am a peaceful activist and like when people approach me. You on the other hand, are kind of scary. And I never ever give anyone a day “of hell”. Sigh….

Leave a Reply

