Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.17.12: Road to joy….

The sun came up with no conclusion
Flowers sleeping in their beds
This city’s cemetery’s humming
I’m wide-awake, its morning…..

Whimsical Vintage 70s Polyester sky blue dress. Faux leather brown belt.

NOTICE: This post will not be as light and “whimsical” as per usual and it is because it is Fur Free Friday.  If you do not wish to see the truth behind this disgusting fashion:do not continue scrolling down.


Fur Free Friday.

Pinnacle:Reinvent the Icon Magazine. 2011. Annamal (I was Anna...)

That’s right, it’s Friday and this morning on twitter I saw my friend John Bartlett, the great vegan designer who is one of many designers who prove that you can be fashionable without the use of animal products  mention Fur-Free Friday which usually is a titled day that occurs during Black Friday because that’s usually when sales for Fur begin to rise. Hundreds of animal rights activists participate in standing outside of Macy’s on 34th street (and numerous other places all over the world) and protest the use and sales of fur.

Ever since I was a child and my father brought me to my first Animal Rights related anti-fur protest & I watched as other activists explained the cruelty that these beautiful creatures endure: I knew that I will never participate in this fashion. I wore my faux fur jackets for the rest of my life and continue to own a few; you can wear the fashion without cruelty.

I read the body count out of the paper
And now it’s written all over my face
No one ever plans to sleep out in the gutter
Sometimes that’s just the most comfortable place

But for now on, every Friday in my opinion is entitled Fur-Free Friday, but everyday SHOULD be Fur Free….

Do you not know of the fur industry? Here are just a few facts about the industry to bring to your attention:

There is no beauty in wearing the skin of an animal. The most farmed fur-bearing animal is the mink.  Other animals used for fur include rabbits, foxes, chinchillas, raccoons, beavers and lynxes.  Most fur farms can be found in Europe and even in the mid-west. The animals are kept in very small cages which causes a lot of emotional and physical stress. They are fed meat by-products considered unfit for human consumption. Water is provided by a nipple system which often freezes in the winter and they are often starved to death.

The killing methods on fur farms are gruesome. They use different methods to kill the animals without damaging their fur. Small animals may be put into boxes and poisoned with the hot engine exhaust from a truck as well as numerous other methods…..

So I’m drinking, breathing, writing, singing
Everyday I’m on the clock
My mind races with all my longings
But can’t keep up with what I got..

What I am trying to state here, on my blog today is that there is NO need to mix cruelty with fashion.

INTERMIX Soho Protest

I am currently  the New York City National Campaigner for the campaign that is currently going on: INTERMIX, PLEASE STOP SELLING FUR. INTERMIX is a nationwide boutique that had just began to sell fur recently(last year) and we are trying to stop them as soon as possible. We arrange protests all over the county in New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, Miami & Boston to try to show them that it doesn’t matter if their sales are rising: we will NOT stop till they stop the selling of fur and it upsets me because I used to shop there a few years ago joyously knowing that at that time, they did not sell fur. If you happen to see this campaign in your area: please join us on Facebook or sign our online petition where we have over 30,000 signatures and Andrew Keegan and numerous other celebrities have signed on to tell INTERMIX to stop selling fur.

I hope I don’t sound too ungrateful
What history gave modern man
A telephone to talk to strangers
Machine guns and a camera lens

There are many cruelty-free fashion labels out there such as Vaute Couture, OlsenHaus & John Bartlett  and many others that I support and I ask you too, as well. Magazines such as Joshua Katcher’s Pinnacle:Reinvent the Icon (I have modeled for them) and VegNews will explain in detail the cruelty that is involved with the wearing of fur. And movies such as  Skin trade will give you nightmares but also be educating at the same time.

If you wear or own fur & wish to stop; here is how to help.

Please donate it to an animal rescue or shelter so that they can become beds for rescued animals. HSUS will help you donate by clicking here.

Sign petitions to help promote activism in the end of the fur trade.

Watch & share movies and literature that will educate others on stopping the fur trade.

Stop wearing it.

For Male fashion, as well check out my fashion forward friends sites:

The BraveGentleman

The Ethical Man

Pinnacle Magazine: Annamal, 2011 (I am Annamal)

So when you’re asked to fight a war that’s over nothing
It’s best to join the side that’s gonna win
And no one’s sure how all of this got started
But we’re gonna make them goddam certain how its gonna end
Oh ya we will, oh ya we will!

Please stop buying fur and supporting cruelty so these sentient beings can keep the beautiful coats that are  intended for them to wear.

Foster cat: Tricia. She keeps her beautiful coat.

The song is by Bright Eyes.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “02.17.12: Road to joy….

  1. Thanks for this sissy! ❤ Wearing fur is 100% barbaric; completely unnecessary in the modern world. Maybe one day you can do a post on wool and silk as well 🙂 As I've noticed many of my friends understand the anti-fur stance but most have no clue about these.

    PS – Love , <3, loving your outfit as always. They make me forget it's winter!

  2. sweetserenitee on said:

    Thank you SO much for your compliment, dear sissy! I am working on that post, actually but it takes awhile to write up as so many people still wear those items and do not see the cruelty in them as much as Fur is in your face and most already are aware of the cruelty in fur. That post should be up on Silk-Free Saturday..(not this one and yes, I made that up!) …..
    And, it’s winter? I forgot as it is 55 degrees outside. xoxox! ❤

Leave a Reply

