Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.15.12: A leaf fluttered in through the window this morning…..

Mmm mm! 🙂

You were tempting, but not enough to make me lose myself in your heavenly web.

The taste of you is still lingering on my lips…

In the end, I devoured you with great passion.

And in that moment…I felt bliss.

I wrote that poem about, chocolate. Are you surprised? No. Because in the past few days I must have eaten what I assume is the equivalent of the  vegan “Charlie & the Chocolate” Factories worth of …chocolate. Needless to say, I was left with a stomach ache at one point and quite a bit of energy until I passed out after having a bomb of aphrodisiacs in my system.

Yesterday was Valentine’s day as you all know and honestly, I did not end up doing any of my plan of the Very Vintage Valentine’s day but I sure hope someone out there reading this blog did! (It was a good plan). I did end up dressing quite lovely to work with a lace vintage classic cut dress and my purple cardigan, bought myself plenty of chocolate and wore my favorite perfume.  I did not get a good pic of the outfit so I won’t post it: sorry.

By the end of the night I was left with a memory that turned out to be quite lovely and not because it was specifically Valentine’s day but because of who I spent the time with while knowing that it could have been any day (or just another Tuesday) and it would have still ended nicely, with me drifting to sleep sweetly. 🙂

Today:

Vintage "Audrey" dress, 60s shift. Vintage Bow headband: 60s.

Today, yet again, I awoke with a smile on my face and everything seemed to be going quite well: I arrived to work early and had enough time to actually stop for my favorite coffee at yes, you will all hate this: Starbucks. I give in to temptation once in a while and order my favorite coffee drink that just so happens to be a “Soy Peppermint Misto”, which started on an animal rights tour in 90 degree weather in Savannah, Georgie while my co-activist mentioned that I should order one and alas, since then; this is my signature drink. Ok, sometimes I admit I also crave a “Soy Green Tea Latte”.

Dear  Starbucks: how I despise the craving I have for you on certain days. We have a love-hate relationship, you see. You are the only cafe that always has soy milk in the middle of nowhere.

Today I decided to re-read more of one of my favorite female authors: Anais Nin, not that I ever put it down but every time I pick up one of her books again and or just re-read a poem of hers, a quote, a blurb; I become instantly inspired in my own life and writing. And more recently inspiration has returned to me and I am writing freely, once again.

She was writing before her time (the 30s) and actually had some of her writings banned in America, along with her long time love affair, Henry Miller who had books banned here, as well. And I always thought we had “free speech”. They had life in their writings!

It’s sad that I feel and see that not many people who know me actually realized how much I like to write. Maybe it is because I stopped mentioning it as much as I used to and just kind of kept it to myself? My routine everyday life just kept something I love to do; hidden.  I am once again getting in touch with my passions for life other than of course, activism & food & travel. Though, I need to travel again this year: I am amorous over the thought of waking up in another town, city, state and or country and living it; joining the routines of the locals and watching the sunset and rise in undiscovered lands…

Exploring.

One of life’s greatest pleasures is to experience something I haven’t yet had the chance to pursue and this year, I feel that happening, actually I know it will; it must.

I postpone death by living, by suffering, by error, by risking, by giving, by losing.

As I return to writing about the talented Anais Nin, she had been my guide through travels as I read each and every one of her books after a friend of mine handed one of her diaries to me when I had just barely turned the age of 18, my friend explaining to me that I will find myself in her. Alas, that is exactly what had happened: the words she wrote, the feelings she endured in life and the passion she dove into with each waking moment left me feeling like I belonged because at that point: I, too knew I had elsewhere to be in life. And thus, I ran to Europe… to write.

I found delight in her quotes:

A leaf fluttered in through the window this morning,
as if supported by the rays of the sun, a bird settled on the fire escape,
joy in the task of coffee, joy accompanied me as I walked…

Or just little reminders that life is just as lovely as you make it out to be, don’t lose your passion for it..

She would speak her mind and not give up hope that someone will love her for it, and they did. The people she wrote about; Henry Miller, June & her husband, Hugh Parker Guiler loved the woman she was.

Each friend represents a world in us, a world not born until they arrive,

and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.

And I feel, I am starting to surround myself with people who care for the person I am, as well.

P.S. I still have chocolate, can you believe it?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “02.15.12: A leaf fluttered in through the window this morning…..

  1. I always have the same rant about Starbucks! I would always go there because they have soy, and even in NYC it’s hard to find cafes with soy. Coffee shops really need to step up their game!!!! And every time I’m in Starbucks I hear someone else order a soy drink. There is a demand! How hard is it to keep a carton around?

    PS – I love love love Henry Miller! Stream of consciousness is one of my favorite styles. ❤

    • sweetserenitee on said:

      Of course you love Henry Miller! He has such an amazing style of writing. haha yes, ranting on Starbucks. These small cafe’s have to learn! High demand. But you know what I really love? When cafe’s have ALMOND Milk. Starsbucks: Step it up and get Almond milk. xo

Leave a Reply

