Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.09.12: Moon River….

Moon River, wider than a mile,
I’m crossing you in style some day.
Oh, dream maker, you heart breaker,
wherever you’re going I’m going your way.

One of my favorite songs sung by Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I won’t even bother mentioning that this is a favorite movie of mine because it isn’t, it’s not even my favorite: it can’t be on the list. It’s an ICONIC movie of mine. 😉  I once had a cat named…”Cat”, I wear black shift dresses and my friend Tanya’s nickname for me will always be “Audrey”…..

Audrey & her baby deer...

Growing up I would watch anything that Audrey had acted in because her natural sweet spirit, and sing-song voice and beautiful grace.  She was a woman of honor as she would donate to Childline and other charities across the world and throughout her life. She would volunteer her free time to helping others and this is in fact what I wanted from life in the long run: a life of giving, care and empathy.

At one point when I was taking french in high school, we watched Sabrina (amongst many other films, of course) and this became a life changing event. I decided right then that I would be running to France as soon as I can and basically chop my hair off and become beautiful. Why do I say this? Because when I was a freshman in high school I had long hair, glasses (wait I still have long hair and wear glasses occasionally!), and basically had very low self-esteem. I would look in the mirror  and over analyze my reflection staring back at me. I would hide underneath large shirts and jeans and not want to show off any sort of youthful beauty I may have had and would feel isolated. What I didn’t know is what beauty really is and that’s what we find during our youthful years, isn’t it?

Why are teenagers so impressionable? I needed something to inspire me to want to step beyond this teenage angst and I watched Sabrina which opened my eyes to a fairy tale of beauty as she returns from Paris growing there from a young girl into a charming elegant lady. Her hair cut short into a pixie cut and rouged lips perfectly penciled in. After seeing this movie I did a modeling gig for Bumble & Bumble in which guess what they did without my even mentioning it? They chopped my very long hair into a short pixie, placed sunglasses in my hand and instructed me on a few tips for the future. I didn’t know what my future may bring but I did know that one day, I would be in Paris. But even more so,  I promised that I wouldn’t lose track of my virtues. I will be a strong woman and not base my life on looks or glances but on poise. She broke free of the restraints of innocence and let go, and like her, I did this too.

Pixie cut....picture taken after a runway show.

At 18, I was given a book written by Anais Nin, but I will write a post on her another time.  Explore.

Two drifters off to see the world.
There’s such a lot of world to see.
We’re after the same rainbow’s end–

Why am I bringing this up? Well last night, I went to my friend Joy’s show at Rockwood Music HallJoy Askew is not only a friend of mine that I appreciate dearly but she is also a talented and inspirational artist with heartfelt lyrics. She described a story last night about her cat and her house in France and how everyday there would be a bit of sun shining through the bathroom at the same time each day and there lay the cat, bathing in the rays. Maybe just how she explains stories and or her melodic voice: it ceased me. How amazing life is that we sometimes have routine and there lay this serene sentient being everyday at the same time for his nap.  Peaceful….

Life is beautiful. Just seize it, take it, make out with it for all I care but definitely move forward with all your passions.  Sometimes we need peaceful breaks like Joy taking a holiday to France to enjoy her lovely farmhouse with her cats to inspire us and bring us back to our dreams. As I was talking to people at the show and after and reflecting on the people I choose to keep in my life, I realized that you can always achieve the dreams you have. Like Sabrina, go for it.  Like me, live it as this is reality and you only get one chance right now, this lifetime anyway.

Live presently:

Mod 60's button down shift dress; Beacon's Closet. ($20), Vintage Echo Scarf; Gift(Thanks Carol!), patterned tights.

Thank you Carol for this scarf 🙂

waiting ’round the bend,
my huckleberry friend,
Moon River and me.

I have to mention though: I am not a Tiffany’s “girl”. I live on my thrift, vintage and whatever else I find recycled and enjoy this matter-of-factually. I may love style and elegance but you know what I find perfect? Sentiments.

 C’est la vie!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “02.09.12: Moon River….

  1. Moon River always puts me in a peaceful mood 🙂 I vote you need to dig up a photo of young Rachel with her pixie cut! Love the outfit and the scarf (and lady) is beautiful!

  2. sweetserenitee on said:

    Updated just for you, Sissy! ❤

Leave a Reply

