Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.08.12: Cherry Bomb!

Can’t stay at home, can’t stay at school
Old folks say, ya poor little fool
Down the street I’m the girl next door
I’m the fox you’ve been waiting for….

I really don’t like the outfit I put on for today so I am just going to improvise and still write my daily post but it will not showcase my outfit for the day.

Photo booth Project from Dust & Grooves, a top Record Collectors Blog

This picture was taken for The Dust & Grooves Blog at a record fair.

Just by looking at this picture: What do you think one of my favorite items happen to be? Records! The history behind them, the sound (of course!), the smell, the feel..I adore records. I will go and hang out in record shops as much as I can. Which brings me to why I am writing this post:

Bleeker Bob’s is closing and I am actually quite upset about this;

Bleecker Bob's

This iconic record shop is known for its history and wide variety of records and has had shops all over the world. It has been based in NYC since probably the 70s and I grew up going here with my father (what a surprise), knowing Bob pretty well and watching the store surprisingly stay the same throughout its years here in NYC. I recently found out that it is closing down after all these years and though I knew it would happen eventually as the world moves on to iTunes and iPods and sadly, even I am to blame when on the go. But if I can choose between a record or a CD and let’s not even include an MP3 playing off of our computers, I would choose a record.

*Hello Daddy, hello Mom
I’m your ch ch ch ch ch cherry bomb
Hello world I’m your wild girl
I’m your ch ch ch ch ch cherry bomb

As I previously stated: records have history. They actually carry stories from each owner if they are used and or if they are then they have the chance to begin a story. I love it when I find records that will sometimes have about 2 or 3 names and they have been crossed out because this is what everyone did in the 60s, 70s, 80s etc. I always try to think of how excited the owner must have been when purchasing it or receiving it in some way!

Imagine;

Receiving Space Oddity in 1969 when it came out? I would have been waiting on the line outside of the record shop shaking with excitement until I held this gem in my hands. (Look how happy I am just to hold it in the above picture!)…

Stone age love and strange sounds too
Come on baby let me get to you
Bad nights cause’n teenage blues
Get down ladies you’ve got nothing to lose

I may not have a large collection now due to life changes last year unfortunately, but I will begin to rebuild my collection and there’s a player at home.

But back to Bleeker Bob’s. I used to go in there with my father and go through each and every record and not really knowing what I was picking, pull them out and look at them. My father had one of the biggest collections I have ever seen (up until recently) where he would continuously play them from morning to evening and like I had said in a previous post; I’d be singing along all day. My first record ever bought was The Monkees.

Records are a part of me and why must the world lose sight of the beauty of them? You just can’t purchase music the same way any longer. We have become accustomed to being lazy, basically. Does anyone really want to go into town and look for their music? Why when at home we can just download from our beds with our pajamas on?

So I may be a Cherry Bomb because the Runaways say so but they had a record, an amazing one. Ah the love I have for this band and how their song’s punkish lyrics streamed to me and I wanted to dance to the subway. I did sing…

Hey street boy whats your style
Your dead-end dreams don’t make you smile
I’ll give ya something to live for
Have ya, grab ya til your sore

So tonight my plan is right before I meet my friend for a girls night of dinner and a show at Rockwood Music Hall that my friend Joy Askew is playing at: I will be running around and hanging at some record shops in the East Village and might even buy one to hold onto for the rest of my life and create my own stories with it. One day, I will be cool.

Did you ever see “Almost Famous”? One of my favorite movies of all time just because it highlights the need for records at least at the time the movie takes place. We need music to thrive in this world.

Keep buying records and pay a visit to Bleecker Bob’s before New York City loses another landmark.

I’m your ch ch ch ch ch cherry bomb…
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “02.08.12: Cherry Bomb!

  1. BLEECKER BOB’S FOREVER

Leave a Reply

