Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.07.12: Venus (De Milo)

The Birth of Venus, by Sandro Botticelli c. 1485–1486.

Tight toy night, streets were so bright.
The world looked so thin and between my bones and skin
there stood another person who was a little surprised
to be face to face with a world so alive.
I fell.

Television.

Venus (De Milo) just happens to be a song by the NY punk band, Television. The song was written by Tom Verlaine in the 70s and one of the most inspiring songs I have heard as I love it’s mellow riffs that seizes me into pure enjoyment. Richard Lloyd, a brilliant and soulful guitarist would play along to this mellowed song. (I still go see him play and am mesmerized every time.) Television just so happens to be one of the first punk bands to help open the famed club, CBGB’s.

History.

I grew up going to CBGB’s literally my whole life as I would always be in the East Village with my father and we would usually end up making a stop there. I have memories of my youthful life as I would try to be at the front of the small stage watching whatever punk band or new artist was up there. Throughout my life, I would frequent the club and well into my early 20’s I would sometimes participate in small showcases and introduce friend’s bands and basically bask in the history of this East Village hangout. Do you know the history? SO many incredible bands first played on that stage that was built by, you guessed it, Television and The Ramones. I didn’t care what it looked like or smelled like: this bar was just another part of my life and I lived it. I’d end up moshing (but not too much!) or going there on New Year’s Eve to count down. Life, such an easy time when CBGB’s existed and now that it is gone: New York is missing something spectacular called edgy creativity.

Didja feel low? No, not at all. Huh???

I fell right into the Arms of Venus de Milo.
I stood up, walked out of the Arms of Venus de Milo.
You know it’s all like some new kind of drug.
My senses are sharp and my hands are like gloves.

Last night after work, I decided to take a walk with Kate up to Union Square and run some errands. The light breeze was revitalizing as I made my errands and decided to just take another long walk downtown out of pure joy. I let my body guide me without my thoughts to apparent and just enjoyed the cities lights. I love this city on nights like these, because I felt like I let go; of thoughts, of restrictions….take me dear wind, into your hollow arms.

I bought myself a gift at Lush, which smells of sweet Argon oil with rose and is a “Body Conditioner” and a few other sweet scented items there, as well. After having a long conversation with the retail girl and talking to her about veganism, she said “if you have skin like that, I am going vegan”, modest me, I can’t take compliments well but I thanked her and then we continued to talk about other things in our life. I love New York City because of just that fact: I can meet a perfect stranger at a retail store and strike up a great conversation.

Needless to say about the conditioner, I couldn’t wait to get it home and try it out. It was AMAZING, the moment I stepped out of the shower and towel dried myself off: and took a deep breath in of the  sweet rose petal scent and it brought me instantly to a spring day and my skin felt as soft as the petals themselves. I fell in love with myself all over again. 🙂 Is this the start of a new addiction? I guarantee, as well as 100% vegan. Honestly, I love taking care of myself and it’s not vanity as some might say when people do this.  I enjoy myself having nice nails, hair, smooth skin & the beauty of taking care of and loving yourself.

Today, I woke up and took my sweet time as I chose my vintage dress & cardigan for the day: Blue, in honor of the bright blue skies outdoors.

It's a Blue Tuesday.....Vintage Cardigan: Etsy.com

60's shift dress: Beacons closet for $18.00!

This cardigan happens to be one of my favorite finds on Etsy.com. I tend to shop Etsy quite a bit as I can always find a vintage outfit, scarf, top, furniture or decoration easily. There is also Vegan Etsy where I either buy myself plenty of cute little vegan items or my friends gifts for their birthdays, ah how I adore Vegan Etsy.

Sunny dresses for rose petal days and soft sentimental hearts.

Suddenly my eyes went so soft and shaky.
I knew there was pain but pain is not aching.
Then Richie, Richie said:
“Hey man let’s dress up like cops
Think of what we could do!”
But something, something said “you better not.”
And I fell.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “02.07.12: Venus (De Milo)

  1. Your outfit today is so bright and springy ❤ Yay! And thanks for mentioning Vegan Etsy! I love Etsy but I had no idea someone started a Vegan version 🙂 Yayyyy!

  2. sweetserenitee on said:

    ❤ I LOVE Vegan Etsy. 🙂 ❤ Yay! Spring is almost here, yes?

  3. Love your blog, the post and your outfit! Oh and I bet you would love Stella parfum!!!

  4. hey we miss cbgb’s!!! i still remember when the punk trip started around 1973-74 via the likes of patti smith and television…punk was a throwback to the beatles days at the star club in hamburg and the cavern in liverpool!!! everyone was so down to earth without all the slick corporatocratic bullshit of being plastic!!!
    punk is a rebellion against mass produced crap!!!it was either disco or punk in those days!!!

Leave a Reply

