Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

02.2.12: Space Oddity…

Ground Control to Major Tom
Ground Control to Major Tom
Take your protein pills and put your helmet on
Ground Control to Major Tom
Commencing countdown, engines on
Check ignition and may God’s love be with you….

Ah, David Bowie. Iconic, Beautiful, Glam…Gorgeous and the iconic androgynous man. (And if you know me, that’s a plus!) Oh, and in some cases magical (Labyrinth). Ok, I will stop describing him as I am sure you all are well aware of these thing and more.

I grew up knowing of and hearing Bowie through my father’s friends and not so much at home but his beauty, voice and magic hypnotized me. I’d hear Space Oddity as a child and imagine myself living through this descriptive song. Ziggy Stardust? You know it. Two of my favorite movies has actually had Bowie starring it it: Can you guess them? I’ll give you a hint…

Ten, Nine, Eight, Seven, Six, Five, Four, Three, Two, One, Liftoff
This is Ground Control to Major Tom
You’ve really made the grade
And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear
Now it’s time to leave the capsule if you dare….

Labyrinth: An epic film during my life which I have seemed to possibly watch over 100 times and continue doing so. I remember one time waking up in what I think might have been Massachusetts at 3 a.m. as a young girl (maybe 5 years old) and not knowing where I am but at someones house and far from home after traveling in a van all night during the summer months and there was Labyrinth, on the Telly as several people slept beside me.  I fell for this man’s voice right there, slightly worried by his character, The Goblin King, but not able to fall asleep again: I watched the whole film  and didn’t even question who may have turned it on. It was fate and I was able to handle it.

The Man who Fell to Earth is a movie & book that I discovered several years ago realizing that Bowie was in it and it became on the top of my must watch list. Every time I watch it I notice something different and an oddity, the book: deep and intriguing. Recently, I was able to see it at The Film Forum in the West Village. Seeing it in the cinema and not on the telly? Magical! (Though I had already watched it several times at my flat!)

If you have not read or heard of  The Man who fell to earth, you must go read the book and watch the movie..NOW.  It seems to affect people in different ways and some times, you don’t even know what is happening. It’s simply brilliant.

And I’m floating in a most peculiar way
And the stars look very different today
For here
Am I sitting in a tin can
Far above the world
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do

What is going on currently, you ask? What shirt do I wear? Well you all know what shirt I was wearing yesterday. After work I ran to pick up my beloved guitar and then I ran over to an important meeting for a group that I am currently involved with: Food Justice Affinity Group. We are mostly made up of vegans(and vegetarians) who work with Occupy Wall Street. We have quite a few ideas in doing out reach to the outer borough neighborhoods of New York City, both vegan outreach and Occupy Wall Street outreach. We want to show change and make change. If you did catch me posting our live stream link, great! If not you can watch what we are up to here & part II is here.

And in honor of Space Oddity: This shirt is amazing, right? This happens to be my friend Nick from work who has a brilliant style. He knows how to carry a cardigan with a t-shirt like no other and dresses mod occasionally! (Definitely hip!).  When he passed me with this shirt on, I instantly took this photo because I already knew the topic in which I was writing my daily post on.  Nick tends to be one of my  Mod Pod Daily “photographers”, as well.

Space Cat!

As we are already in this theme, I actually did a somewhat Mod Military look.

Mod Military

Military Mod: Charles Military Tank upcycled by AuH2O, Black granite vintage necklace & gold necklace, swapped vintage wrist bracelet & Black vintage schoolgirl skirt & printed tights from the swap.

Comfy sweater from clothing swap.

AUH2O, where I happen to pick up the upcycled shirt and & I have had a long history. AuH2O (Kate’s last name is Goldwater)  is a second-hand and vintage clothing store located in the East Village in which a good friend of mine, Kate Goldwater had opened quite a number of years ago. I wondered in one day and basically never left: becoming friends with Kate and modeling her designs even to this day. Her and her partner are very picky about what they decide to sell in the shop and no matter what when I go in there I always walk out with a bag of items at GREAT prices. Kate also does numerous fashion shows and fashionable items that reflect her (as well as my own) activist choices. Kate is not only an inspiration but a delight.  But seriously, I LOVE Charles military tank. 🙂

Check out her shop at:

84 East 7th Street  in New York City and her website at: www.auh2oshop.com/

Also, this may be off topic but I have recently came across Moroccan Oil: It is AMAZING. My hair feels like a dream and shines like the sun. Check it out and you shall to be amazed!

Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you….
“Here am I floating round my tin can
Far above the Moon
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do….

Personally, I would love to be floating far above the moon looking down at the earth below and realizing we are all space cats..Odd? I think not. Word of the day? Magical.  Because that’s what space cats are.

Can you hear me Major Tom?

Space Mod Hop

P.S. WAR is OVER. You can wear a military inspired outfit but please do not support wars of any kind. Though I am sure Charles was a nice guy. Peace.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “02.2.12: Space Oddity…

  1. haha, I totally had Bowie on my brain this morning. We are totally 2 peas.

  2. sweetserenitee on said:

    Twin peas…haha, get it?

  3. Wow, nice swap haul! 🙂

Leave a Reply

