Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

01.27.12: We all live in a yellow submarine..

In the town where I was born,
Lived a man who sailed to sea,
And he told us of his life,
In the land of submarines…..

The epic 60s Beatles film, Yellow Submarine is just another one of my many favorite movies growing up that always seems to bring back memories every time I watch it presently. I remember waking up to the Beatles and or I would be showering in the morning as a child and my father would be playing his records in the other room. I would sing along to all of my favorites back then and currently: The Beatles, The Monkees, Jimi Hendrix & The Doors (and many others) would blur out to me through the walls and I’d be singing along at the top of my lungs.

I was no doubt a Beatles fanatic growing up & drawing yellow submarines on my school folders, watching the movies when friends came over and watching “Thomas The Engine” just so that I can watch Ringo Starr act.  I would call myself Lucy (as in Lucy in the sky with diamonds) and purposely have my father bring me up to Strawberry Fields as much as possible. I’d enjoy every Paul McCartney film, pretend I am in a pure white room like in the Imagine video with a piano as I close my eyes and listen to John Lennon sing about peace.

So we sailed on to the sun,
Till we found the sea green,
And we lived beneath the waves,
In our yellow submarine….

Flowers in my hair, something I was able to do quite often as I grew up traveling with my family to where our friends lived in the country (and I mean all over the country). During the summers I would be taken out of the city and we would usually live out of cars or buses with rainbow flags and again, lots of flower power. This might be a reason why I love road trips so much because I would wake up in the morning, squinting to the sun and feel the slight rejuvenating chill that awoken me in the first place and asking someone around me where we were. I would enjoy waking up in anywhere from Maine to Nevada to New Mexico and run outside to feel the earth between my toes and my fingers and bask in the sun.

My summer dresses were long and flowery (Gunne Sax style) and I would twirl in the sun with my friends as we ran through fields soaking in what nature has given us: peace. We lived free from restraints during the summers as we would fall asleep in beautifully crafted teepee’s to the camp fire’s shadows dancing on the walls. My memories are full of sweet, serenity from my childhood as I look back now, singing “Puff The Magic Dragon”  with my friends as we went on hunts to find, crystals.

Let’s journey to the present times with my outfit for the day:

Vegan corduroy motorcycle jacket; Yellow J.Crew Skirt(bought at Thrift store).

Vintage 60s Scarf designed by @Vera"

When I wear yellow: I usually sing the Yellow Submarine to myself and marvel at the artwork that went into the film..maybe this is why I love color blocking so much? I love to mix yellow with purple, currently. Just please take a moment and marvel at the imagination that went into designing the artwork for this film:

Yellow Submarine Poster...

Even though I know that this movie did not involve the Beatles in this project very much at all, even the voices weren’t them in the movie itself and all they really did was support the films existence, it still strikes me as one of my favorites. (Though I love all the Beatles movies, especially Hard Days Night and Help).

And our friends are all aboard,
Many more of them live next door,
And the band begins to play…..

Before I close today’s post with a fun picture: I want to say thank you to the friends I saw last night at Vegan Drinks for the compliments that I have received on the blog. I enjoy that my friends appreciate listening to my babble as much as I love writing it. 🙂 It was a fun night filled with lots of treats….mmm mmm!

Mod Dance!

We all live in a yellow submarine,
yellow submarine, yellow submarine,
We all live in a yellow submarine,
yellow submarine, yellow submarine…..

And believe me, I would love to live in a yellow submarine over the weekend.

Happy Friday!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “01.27.12: We all live in a yellow submarine..

  1. check out http://youtu.be/_e0W-YsYjic
    its the video of peter yarrow singing “puff the magic dragon” at the folk city 25th anniversary concert the pier on 1985….you are featured in the video at age 3

Leave a Reply

