Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

01.23.12: Love Reign O’er me…..

Only love
Can bring the rain
That makes you yearn to the sky.
Only love
Can bring the rain
That falls like tears from on high.

Love Reign O’er me…..

This song happens to be from one of my all time favorite movies, Quadrophenia. If you know me, I constantly mention it and will go out of my way to see it almost, (well), monthly.  But, I will wait another time to actually type up a whole post, and or several posts dedicated to this epic cult classic, film. Quadrophenia was written, directed and produced by the band, The Who with their rhythmic songs throughout the movie you don’t know whether to relax and watch it and or dance to it. Are you a Mod or a Rocker? Well, watch the movie and you’ll find out. This movie happens to also be Sting’s first acting role as a mod, and he played it well.

Today I awoke to rain outside my window that reminded me of when I lived in Dublin: slight mist, about 40 degrees and the kind of sprinkles that either you really don’t need your umbrella but you’d prefer it, this is not what mother nature intended us do in this type of overcast; she intends us to bathe ourselves in it, enjoy it.   I hurriedly chose my outfit that reminds me kind of the one I wore yesterday as I am again wearing yellow tights(I have two pairs!) and a black dress but decided to throw on one of my favorite long cardigan sweaters and my favorite vintage  blue necklace.

Color Blocking....on a rainy day.

So tonight, I will choose not to use my umbrella as I decide to run over to “The Yippie Museum Cafe”, a cafe with a historical background in the West Village that I am on the board of directors of.  Tonight we will be holding a celebration of the Chinese New Year.  9 Bleeker Street (or what I grew up calling it ” Number 9″) was first rented in 1973 by The Youth International Party, which included at one point activists and heroes, Abbie Hoffman(of the Chicago 7th), Dana Beal, Jerry Rubin, Paul Krassner & Aron Kay (my father), A.J. Weberman (my uncle) & many other people. The Yippie Museum cafe is now chartered by The New York Board of regents to preserve the history behind it.

The cafe strives to hold events in support of activism going on all over the world; holding benefits for Occupy Wall Street, peace benefits & numerous other demonstrations. We also hold comedy shows, open mics and continuously and will always be dedicated to the artist community. When you walk the sweet smells of different teas, vegan pastries and food  and coffee will seize you.  I can guarantee you will witness old hippies still wearing their tye-dye’s from the 60’s debating on the different era’s the political state of world has been in and or see hipsters/mods & even suits ordering coffee and sitting down to enjoy and take in the art while they are on their laptops taking freedom of the wi-fi.  I love hanging out here not only because of my history with growing up here but because it is home to me.

My birthday this year will be held here with a theme of the 60s, mod clothes appreciated! On April 12th in honor and donation of the  Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary.  So clearly, I am looking for a band that can play 50s, 60s & 70s music so I can rock out to The Beatles, The Kinks, The Monkees etc….while wearing my go-go boots. This cafe will be turned into Andy Warhol’s factory for the night and it will be epic. (The band must also know how to play Oasis songs :)) Obviously, I am very excited for this…and will be sending out invites in the next few months.

Now that I mentioned Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary, I should speak briefly on it before I write that long post, as well. I first found out about Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary about 3 years ago as I am vegan (wait, you know that!) and believe in volunteering as much as I can. I have been volunteering for them for over 2 years now first starting with heading up there as much as I can and then doing the “Ask a Vegan” booth in NYC (usually Union Square) where people can come up to me and my fellow volunteer and ask us questions and pick up literature on how to go vegan, the sanctuary etc. Then  continuing to volunteer for our summer concerts we held 2 years ago where Moby & Sean Lennon has performed to help raise money for the farm.  I continue to volunteer and raise benefits. Jenny and Doug have become wonderful friends of mine and they inspire me because they really do give it their all where the  over 200 loving beings live happy and peaceful lives. 🙂

Dylan, the cow, who I have watched grow! & Pogo, the cat.

It is my #1 tradition that every birthday I go up and spend time with the sentient beings I love & care about (though I go up as much as I can throughout the year!).  Obviously, with the picture above, I am wearing my vintage 70s jacket while I cuddle with just two of my favorite critters up there. Dylan, the cow and I are very close and he recognizes me every time he sees me; running towards my voice and bending his head down to me to scratch it. He has licked me & he just melts my heart.

So now that you know what I will be planning for my birthday weekend….and it’s not even close to here yet and that I absolutely love the movie Quadrophenia as well as that I am looking for a band to play at my birthday..I will bid you all goodbye for now.

Please stop by the cafe for any of our events and you might actually bump into me at one. 🙂 (Like tonight!)

Yippie museum cafe is located at: 9 Bleeker Street in NYC.  Please check out Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary at www.woodstocksanctuary.org. 

On the dry and dusty road
The nights we spend apart alone
I need to get back home to cool cool rain.
The nights are hot and black as ink
I can’t sleep and I lay and I think
Oh God, I need a drink of cool cool rain……

And Happy Chinese New Year! I was born in the year of the dog. (Makes sense if you know me, right?)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “01.23.12: Love Reign O’er me…..

  1. Great blog, Rachel! – and I really love those yellow tights too.

  2. I cant believe i finally ran into someone who recalls that album! You are a darling! Every time i would try to mention that album to people they would think i was crazy or they did`nt know what i was talking about. Some have never seen the movie or have never listened to the songs. I lost my album years ago and would like to own it on cassette and cd,if u have an idea of how i may replace it please give me a holler! I know your dad and he knows me as “sonrise”, we see each other at central park gatherings every 3rd sunday in may. I hope u could stop by with him in may 2012. It would make me happy to meet you in person with your dad. Thank u very much,you made my day! I would like to be invited by you and i hope i could make it in April. Please contact me-i think your dad still has my number. Call me any time. AND WHEN A MAN IS TRYING TO CHANGE IT ONLY CAUSES FURTHER PAIN….

  3. harvey balwoganogger on said:

    as always, great post. i’m year of the tiger, myself. see ya around.

  4. sweetserenitee on said:

    Eric: I get the same response quite a bit when I mention, Quadrophenia. The movie and or the album it is based on…it is epic. I usually am the “crazy” person dancing down the street to the tunes of The Who…:)

    Thanks for the compliment.

Leave a Reply

