Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

01.22.12: First day of my life…..

This is the first day of my life
I swear I was born right in the doorway
I went out in the rain suddenly everything changed
They’re spreading blankets on the beach….

I was blinded by the blanket of snow yesterday morning when I woke up, yes, it’s not so much the rain but it still was snowing pretty hard. I woke up with Diana in the morning and we continued to have our slumber party as we sit on my bed doing our makeup and fixing up for the day at the same time as watching the movie with Anna Faris, “What’s your number?” ….

Good Morning!

We were acting pretty silly in this photo as I have a puffy headband on my head and Diana is sporting a side pony tail. This is what fun is made, especially waking up to the first snow storm of the year. I headed into Manhattan that afternoon  to stand in front of INTERMIX. A few of us were out there through the snow and after we ran over to S’nice for a bit of warm food and relaxation and then I ran to Sephora and did my nails:

Bringing back the multi color nails!

I returned home and ended up relaxing the rest of the night, listening to some good tunes and spending time with my roommate. Sometimes, this is all I crave: to do absolutely…nothing.

This morning I awoke to the first song of my day: Daydream Believer….

Oh, I could hide ‘neath the wings of the bluebird as she sings
The six o’clock alarm would never ring
But it rings and I rise wipe the sleep out of my eyes
The shavin’ razor’s cold, and it stings..

It’s quite intriguing how the first song of the day that you hear can sometimes set what you might feel the rest of the day. I am daydreaming….and relaxing. I have a lot to do today but I decided to also take it easy at the same time. Especially as I sip my beloved tea and write out this blog.

Today I felt like wearing flashes of color over a simple black dress:

Snow bunny...Cardigan: Beacons Closet. Dress: Urban Outfitters(13 years ago), Boots: Steve Madden, Tights: Beacons Closet, Headband:Vintage, Jewelery: Cow Hugging Necklace from Vegan Etsy and vintage bracelet with an Aries symbol. Belt: Vintage.

I am in what i call a stoic state of mind right now as today I was invited to a Wetlands party at Brooklyn Bowl. If you have never heard of Wetlands: The Wetlands Preserve was a live music venue in Tribeca, New York City, that closed in 2001. The club was located on Hudson and Laight Streets, near the Holland Tunnel. Founded by Larry Bloch on February 14, 1989, the club was a center for environmental activists. – taken from wikipedia.

I grew up going to Wetlands to see numerous bands, watch as my father and his friends took part in projects for the club and or attended it’s parties. I remember every moment like it was just yesterday; I met dozens of intriguing musicians, artists whom have made their art into their careers. Again, just inspiring! How would life be without having inspiration? Meeting someone who can inspire you with their poem? Only recently, I met a poet and he recited one of his to me a few weeks ago; this indeed was one of those moments in my life where inspiration brings you to where you are currently. I exclaimed how much his reciting filled me with such joy, almost with tears in my eyes. (I truly am sensitive and words can affect me very deeply). I thank him for sharing his words with me.

Anyway, tonight’s benefit for Wetlands is actually also a yearly anniversary (sigh) of someone who passed away and each year we hold a concert in his behalf, David Nolan. Dave Nolan was a very close family friend of mine and he left behind his sweet daughter and wife…I miss him so much. He was someone who REALLY knew his music; a radio dj, recorded for bands and worked with music all his life. He was a true inspiration and I will always miss him.

Until next time….toodles!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

