Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

01.20.12: Youthquake! The 1960s Fashion Revolution at F.I.T in NYC!

Cheers!

Bright blue panty hose in original packaging; Cardstock envelope printed with colored horizontal bands over photo of model Twiggy's face.


Thank to my mum, Iris,  and her absolute desire for vintage fashions & fabrics she posted about this event going on at the F.I.T. museum in NYC  that opens on March 6th & runs through to April 7th, 2012. This excited me and I will be sure NOT to miss it.

I really need everything on this page or at least to find it and wear it for just ONE day (to post pictures on this blog of course!).  I mean look at some of the items they will have on display for me to drool over, basically I will just be daydreaming as I walk through the museum just hoping one day I will find the perfect paper dress. This one being of Bob Dylan- it’s simply poetic. I am already imaging what outfit I will be wearing and the photos I will be taking….but for now: I must wait, patiently for my dream exhibit to appear before my very mod-like eyes.

 

paper dress: A line mini dress in white non-woven fabric with engineered photo print of Bob Dylan's face in black stipled dots; sleeveless, with open round neck and velcro closure at left shoulder

I can just imagine wearing this little number out with the other birds to a go-go with some high boots and my hair high in a 60s style pony tail or down with a head band dancing toThe Who or The Monkees.

Bronze lamé sleeveless A-line mini shift; squared neckline, shoulder yoke, princess torso and wide hem band with CF kick pleat; vertical stand pockets below hip line; topstitched


And of course: My favorite, the absolute accessory that I must figure out a way to get other than this: I would wear these with every last go-go dress, 50s dress, swing dress, A-line dress…She loves them (yeah yeah yeah)…

Stylized slip-ons; light blue denim with black "Beatles" print including names and faces; white rubber sole

So let me just talk a little bit more about my slight (ok rather immense) obsession with wanting a paper dress: yes, I know, it would possibly rip the minute I try to break out my dancing boots(you know, the go-go’s) or it might rain the day I decide to wear one, but ever since I read about them and saw them as something that Andy had made popular: I told myself I need one of those. I need to just hang it;frame it. Any of the prints are marvelous. Why does modern fashion not come up with odd ideas that actually make someone stand out? This is just another reason why mod is my lifestyle; mods stand out, with very proper fashion and always looking their best. Alas, I will fantasize until I miraculously bump into one at a vintage store and pay as much as I can to own one….

 

Check out more information at the F.I.T. website and maybe I will see you there!

http://www.fitnyc.edu/12043.asp

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “01.20.12: Youthquake! The 1960s Fashion Revolution at F.I.T in NYC!

  1. Pingback: 4.11.12: “Youthquake! The 1960s Fashion Revolution” Review « Mod Pod Daily

  2. hi twiggy u are cool id like to meet u

Leave a Reply

