Mod Pod Daily

Quadrophonia, a new style. Straight from the mind into a Cubase file.

01.18.12: Mod isn’t only a style, but a lifestyle. Welcome to my life.

Hello, and welcome to the first few sentences of my new blog: Mod Pod Daily.

So how did I come up with this blog? Well, I have always been inspired by Mod fashion and the era’s of the 1950s, 60s and 70s (and sometimes 80s) I honestly do not believe that modern fashion (unless inspired by these era’s) are well thought out, proper and or very sexy. They use cheap fabrics in modern times that are made usually by children in China, India and must I list all the other countries? Needless to say; I will NOT support sweat shops. I honestly try not to shop at H&M, Forever 21 and or Gap, Old Navy…etc.

I try to only shop in vintage and thrift stores and find that I seek out fabrics that are unique.

I grew up as a child idealizing the 60s for Audrey Hepburn, Edie Sedgwick, Twiggy & Nico.  Daydreamed of having been able to coincide and live with Andy Warhol at the factory and dance to my favorite bands of these era’s, with true artists.  I would throw my body in sync to: The Beatles, The Monkees, Jefferson Airplane (hey guys!) & Jimi Hendrix… just to name a few( I can go on and on..) Dress up in vintage right after I’d watch Bewitched and imagine me as a witch, twitching her nose as a 60s housewife in suburbia.

You ask WHY? Why would a young girl growing up in the 80s want to not be present with the fashion of the 80s and 90s. Well, I grew up with a hippie(Yippie) Activist as my father.

My Father, Aron Kay- The Pieman and I at Zucotti Park

My Father, The Pieman and I at Zucotti Park

Intriguing, eh?

He would throw tunics on me and Tye-dye’s and bring me to parties where indeed, it was like living the 60s. He knew (and knows) quite a few icons and I grew up either meeting, knowing these people and or hearing the stories.  He is known for his Pie-Throwing days and now more currently, his Occupy Wall Street activist.

My fathers web page and history

…so check him out. I will speak more on this in the future;

My mother is a loom knitter, this means that she likes to weave and has her own personal style of colors, prints and the likes always inspired as well, by the 60s. Check out my mom’s craft blog.

How did I come up with this? Well, I have been thinking of starting a blog for a while now and I haven’t found the time and I will try to keep this up to date: Daily. Mod Pod Daily.

I went to a party this past MLK weekend and one of my friends brought it up as she had recently started her very own daily blog and she inspired me to start right then and there. At the party, I had another friend take a snapshot of me. This was Saturday the 14th of January:

First Picture of this blog! Taken at my friend's home on game night.

and thus, began the promotion. The next day I had my friend who was sleeping over(yes, we had a slumber party!) take some snapshots of me:

Mod Pod Daily: Sunday the 15th of January.   

Sun Burst Dress...Spring in the snow.

This day was actually one of the best days of my life because I was able to help out at a historical event for MLK at the Riverside Church that very inspiring people spoke at and shared their music and poetry. Patti Smith, Russell Simmons and numerous others stood up for what was right and what they believed in. This just marked another chapter in my life as the words of Patti Smith inspired me to always stand up for myself, be myself and ALWAYS care for others with my activism.

Yes, I am an activist. Animal Rights and Veganism are my core, but I also work on Human Rights as well as anything else I believe in.

SO, I gave you a little secret didn’t I? This is a VEGAN Blog. This means that everything I wear in this blog and daily are vegan(No Animal Products) and this means: No Leather, Wool, Silk, Cashmere and FUR. (Fur hags beware, you wont find it here.)

I went to a Beatles Sing- Along on Sunday at Union Hall in Brooklyn (where I am from) and was called up to stage for being one of the 3 best dressed in a 70s inspired outfit. This was pretty funny because I really just dress this way daily and went up with a smile on my face toting around a small paisley 60s suitcase full of vintage clothes that I had purchased at my friends vintage shop earlier in the day:

Check out Stache! She holds quite a few sales and I usually walk out with either bags full or in this case, a suitcase full of new and daily inspiring fashions.

They shot this: 60s Acrylic Knit Cap, Broche from Carol and sentimental, NO FUR PIN and my new Suit case.

Unfortunately, I did not win the contest as the guy won for his Faux 60s button down and his 1969 plastic glasses. I did get to mention to them about this blog and now, I am finally starting it.

Here are just a few more shots from yesterday and today. Tonight will be my job’s 10 year anniversary and I picked out the perfect dress from Stache(her private collection) and I will be posting pictures.

Thank you for stopping by to my first post and see you again tomorrow!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “01.18.12: Mod isn’t only a style, but a lifestyle. Welcome to my life.

  1. i am enjoying this

  2. Joanee on said:

    nice blog Rachel… congrats!!

  3. Congrats on the blog! Great idea!

Leave a Reply

